DIY

Guest Bathroom Makeover

Hey y’all! I know it has been a while since I last posted, but I promised to update you on our home projects. So, without further ado here is one of the many projects my husband and I have been tackling in the last year….our guest bathroom makeover.

When we first moved into our home the guest bathroom was very generic. It had laminate floors, and the color on the walls was a medium shade of beige. To me, the bathroom did not have the relaxing, spa feeling that I look for in a bathroom. I also like a clean aesthetic and that beige was not giving me that feeling at all! Luckily, the sink, toilet, and bathtub were white and fit right in with my overall design vision.

My first mission was to paint. That beige had to go. It was making my eyes bleed an eye sore. I just had to see a new color on the walls to get my creative juices flowing. The color I chose for the walls is called Tidewater which is one of he HGTV colors at Lowe’s by Sherwin-Williams. Here is a photo of the before and after:

1471817610489
Much better….and check out that linoleum?!?

Now that I had changed the color of the bathroom, I moved on to the floors. We had bought some peel and stick vinyl planks from Lowe’s a few months before we moved and decided the guest bathroom would be the best place to use those. They look and have the texture of real wood! Here is a pic while were were putting it down:

 

IMG_0772

Once we had the floor down, it was time to decorate. I decided to go with a white linen shower curtain and white towels, washrags, etc… My mother had given me a set of baskets which are nested inside one another, and I bought some bathroom items from T.J. Maxx and HomeGoods. I was also given a few beautiful prints from family friends as a graduation gift, and I bought some frames at Walmart. Here is the final result:





 

Full disclosure: I have not completely finished this bathroom, but it is done enough that I can live with it for now. We will be replacing the light fixture, the knobs, and the hated builder mirror. Hope you guys enjoyed a peep at my guest bathroom DIY. I would love to hear your thoughts, and as always, please feel free to ask me anything!

XOXO….B.

P.S. You can check out those beautiful wall art prints at Stan Shillingburg Photography. Click the link and show him some LOVE!

Leave a Reply

