adventures · Blogging 101 · Weekend

Pop Culture: Adoring the Famous Because They are Famous?

This past weekend I was fortunate to be able to experience a bit of art history at the Columbia Museum of Art. My Mama and a few of her artsy friends invited me to attend the From Marilyn to Mao: Andy Warhol’s Famous Faces exhibit. Some of my favorite classes in college were those in art history so being able to experience a favorite artist of mine was awesome! Here are some photos from my visit….hope you enjoy!

IMG_0534 IMG_0537 IMG_0539 IMG_0540 IMG_0546 IMG_0545 IMG_0544 IMG_0543 IMG_0542 IMG_0548 IMG_0550 IMG_0553 IMG_0554 IMG_0558 IMG_0564 IMG_0562 IMG_0561 IMG_0560 IMG_0559

5 thoughts on “Pop Culture: Adoring the Famous Because They are Famous?

  1. Although not a fan of “pop” art per se (I’m more an Impressionist kinda gal–with a strong touch of Gustave Courbet and Eugene Delacroix thrown in), I do like Warhol. I saw a few of his pieces earlier this summer at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris. (I have pics in my blog–atypical60). The building itself was stunning but much of the works within the building were just ….well..a bit pretentious. But that’s just me. Nice pics!!!!

    1. Thank you, Catherine! I was trying to snap pics around other viewers at the exhibit. I have not traveled abroad yet, but my husband and I are planning to in the next few years. I love your blog, and you are very well traveled!

    1. I think the truth is somewhere in between. Andy Warhol predicted that in the future everyone would be “famous for 15 minutes”. Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, etc…have given everyday people the opportunity to be “famous”. I feel he was a thinker ahead of his time, and isn’t it quite a coincidence (as stated in the exhibit) that “he used fame to make art, art that is itself now famous”.

Leave a Reply

